top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Writer's pictureAbi Purvis

Room review



This was a book I was given for my birthday from Will and I've finally had the chance to read it! I first was able to enjoy it in the sun in my final few days in Plymouth and then in the rainy days at the end of May.


' Today I am five. I was four last night going to sleep in the Wardrobe, but when I wake up in Bed in the dark I'm changed to five, abracadabra. Before that I was three, then two, then one, the zero. "Was I Minus numbers?" '


A spoiler free synopsis:

Donoghue captures a child's innocence and maternal love. She tells the story from 5 year old Jacks point of view in his experience of being brought up in a room. His mother and him live in a room that they cannot leave, Jack knows nothing of anything outside of the room he lives in. His only conception of life outside of the room is the world that the tv presents but he doesn't understand that it is really real.

One day Jack's Ma decides it is time to escape and tells Jack the truth about the world outside


An honest review (*warning spoilers*):

I think that this book gives an insight into unconditional love between an mother and her child as well as the horrifying experiences of being kidnapped and being kept from the world. Yet their escape seems a little unlikely and almost happened to quickly for my likening. When Jack and his Ma do escape reality comes crashing down on Jack and he can't understand how it all works, Donoghue has obviously done her research into the psychological affects this can have on both characters and explores this brilliantly.

I really really enjoyed this book despite my minor critics and think that it tells a beautiful story about love lasting through horrifying circumstances. I definitely would recommend this book or the film version which I have heard good things about (but i am still yet to see it).



"You look like me. I guess because you're made from me, like my spit is. Same brown eyes..."



 

I hope you enjoyed this little book review, sorry its a couple of days late. I'll see you here next week for a post about my trip to Jersey. Subscribe to make sure you don't miss out


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page