top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Writer's pictureAbi Purvis

Feeling Christmasy in Plymouth

Where has the year gone! I can't believe I'm writing about Christmas and what I'm doing this December.

For some reason this year is the most Christmasy I have felt since I was a 'Little Ickle Purvis' so be prepared for a lot of enthusiasm about opening each door of my MALTESEAR ADVENT CALENDAR and doing festive activities



My Christmasy vibe started with the Plymouth light switch on making town look so pretty and then the addition of the Christmas market where I managed to pick up a fair few presents for family and friends.Wrapping up presents has deffo been a key element to my Christmas excitement; I just cannot wait to give them out.



Next on the early festivities list is Will's visitation to Plymouth where we both went to Saltram Nation Trust on the 24th November. Each room in the house was decorated as a different fairy tale set in Christmas. My Fave has to be the Cinderella one:



But look how festive the whole place looks:




And then I made us a roast dinner which is actually a sorta milestone for me as it is the first one I've ever made completely by myself before (can you tell how proud I am?)




On November the 30th/December the 1st (it was a late night)in my flat- after I'm a celebrity obvs- myself, Ellie, and Harry started on the decorations. We went a smidge 'extra'...: we made paper chains, and snow flakes and even put up a YouTube video up on the TV of a fireplace crackling. Then on the 2nd our Christmas tree arrived so the flat is fully decorated! I LOVE IT!!!


On the evening of Monday 3rd December I had an amazing time with the gals Ellie, Riss and Rachel. We went to the Slug and Lettuce for Afternoon tea.... with cocktails. We all then came back to my flat and had many laughs.






Then, Shock Horror, I lost my Christmas spirit for a few days :( The weather has been wet and uninspiring and I've just been working on my essays but the Christmas films; 'the holiday calendar', 'Arthur Christmas', 'the Christmas price' and one of my all time faves 'The Holiday' helped me through (Jude Law's -from the holiday- face is and instant pick me up).


But when Saturday 8th rolled around the real Christmas fanatics started up again as we held a mini party in my flat which we called 'Christmas wine, cheese and nibbles'. We played a few games and just hung out really. It was a lovely evening. Now I have to admit I totally got into the excitement of it all and forgot to take photos of our fake snow we put across the room (and I'm still finding traces of today -along with the glitter from my top!) and our spread and mulled wine. I managed to steal these photos from my friends camera roll though :



When 11o'clock hit (and the wine supply ended) I unashamedly got into my comfy Christmas leggings and hoodie whilst everyone else carried on looking nice... I am a Grandma at heart I'm telling you.


On Monday 10th I was lucky enough to go back to Saltram but this time in the evening to see the light displays with Lily. AND it was totally free as the English department were giving away tickets and providing transport there and back (maybe that's where my tuition fee goes) . There were so many fairy lights- I was right in my element.






^I've also decided that when I've got my own garden I totally want to put this huge tent and Christmas tree in it! SO CUTE


On Tuesday evening I watched Love Actually for the first time this year and on Wednesday I watched Arthur Christmas again whilst I was working on my essay!


Thursday was our traditional house meal where we cooked ourselves a roast, played games all evening, consumed lots of wine, and exchanged presents.





On Friday Motherbean came down to Plymouth and she took me out climbing and then for dinner where I had an amazing brie and cranberry pizza (as if I haven't already had enough cheese this December)


Then on Saturday we came straight back to little phead and put up our Christmas decorations



 

So its now just a week until Christmas! I hope you are all in the Christmas spirit. Have a fabulous break and I'll be back with a new blog post after Christmas. Merry Christmas all x

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page