top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Writer's pictureAbi Purvis

I'm back!

I'm back to the blog and back to uni (after much debate over which jumpers to pack and how I was going to safely transport my house plants down)! Unfortunately I didn't really pick the best date (22nd sept). Not only did the heavens open making moving day just a tad moist, my brother Richard came home from Scotland literally at the time of the morning that mum and I had planned on leaving... we delayed our travel time, of course, so I could see him.


After arriving, unloading the car, doing a huge food shop and waving goodbye to Mum I had a blast organising. Yeessss I know it's just a little sad but (unlike packing) I enjoyed unpacking all my belongings and placing posters on my walls and deciding what surface top my plants looked best in whilst still getting enough sunlight.


Here's a couple of photos of my room:


Its still almost a work in progress as I want to get some more photo frames for the ones stuck on my cupboard and maybe move them onto the radiator (but that'll probably be a job for after winter when the heater will deffo be off). But i'm super happy with my room and how cosy it is with the fairy lights on and having all my Polaroids and posters around my room. AND wowie I love my window and how much light it lets it....


...And look at how amazing my view of the sunsets have been!



 

Actual uni itself is going well but there are SOOOO many books this year but I'm loving it, I'm cracking through some novels and plays I've wanted to read for a long time so it's just good motivation. This term I'm studying Romanticism, Shakespeare, and The American novel.

 

Societies and socials... I've signed up to Dodgeball again, of course. I actually sort of feel like I know what I'm doing this year with the sport. The first meet up I had was a bbq with them on the hoe


and the sunset was AMAZING



Since then there was a social for Dodgeball which was the 'D social' aka. dress up as something beginning with D. Last year I went as a Dalmatian, this year I went as a Dad. I think I rock the moustache...

D social 2017




 

I have joined a new society this year! I've finally got myself involved with the outdoor society called Adventure and Expo (A&E). I have been climbing with them on Tuesday's and realising how rusty I am since I last climbed so lots to work on but progress is being made *slowly*.

I also made my first tie dye t-shirt with them in prep for the first social and I'm actually super proud of it.





Then there was the first weekend which was a weekend of adventures on Dartmoor. On Saturday I did a 20km hike and saw a HIGHLAND COW. They just appeared through the fog and deffo made the rain and the cold worth it. We also saw an alpaca- what a a crazy wildlife weekend.



We camped at five wytches and faced a very cold night - deffo one of my coldest nights on Dartmoor


On Sunday we went climbing on Hound tor


And I took a nice chunk of my knuckle out on a climb... oppsie & owie


It was a really enjoyable weekend and I can't wait for the next one. I'll just be sure to have all my nice warm hiking kit and camping equipment! I NEEDED my big winter Rab fleece for sure


 

It was also my good friend Lily's 20th birthday on the 3rd of October and it was lovely to celebrate with this beautiful girl and her housemates over some cocktails



 

I am doing netball again this year but this was a decision I made last minute. So in joining late I was supposed to have my first match on Sunday but that got rained off so I'm still yet to play! On Monday I went to the boat part social (and you'll all be pleased to know I held my drink much better this year than last!) which was themed at 'tight and bright'




 

Will came to visit last weekend and I persuaded him (when there was a gap in the rain) to come on a little walk round central park. I walked through it in the late afternoon on my way to swimming the week before and noted that the autumnal colours were breaking through so I was keen to come back. LOOK HOW PRETTY!!!



As you've probably guessed and already know is that I frickin' love autumn and I'm in the process of planning an autumn themed blog post to come very soon so ya might be seeing these photos cropping up again.

 

Apologies that this has been a bit of a scrambled brain splurge to catch you up with where I have been and what I'm up to. I hope you are all doing well and enjoyed the last of the summer warmth. See ya soon with another post x

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page