top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Writer's pictureAbi Purvis

January and February NETFLIX picks



FRIENDS:

Anyone else loving the fact that this was added to Netflix in the New Year? I used to watch it on repeat when I was about 13 or 14 and well... now I've been doing it again! (I've already watched it all the way through)



THE END OF THE F***ING WORLD:

This is literally the new stranger things. I saw YouTuber Mark Ferris mention this show and OMG it is amazing. I watched all 8 episodes back to back on a rainy Sunday morning in January. It's weird and cute at the same time. I think this is my new favourite thing of 2018. I'm trying to withhold myself from re-watching it for another month or two. If you haven't seen this yet you really should!



ATYPICAL:

So this is an 8 episode series about a boy called Sam who is on the Autism spectrum and wants to start dating. It follows the characters of all of the family and was a hilarious watch. (I have to admit I did also watch the entire series in the same day I binged The End of the F***ing World- oppsie). It was a light-hearted watch and I really enjoyed watching it.



BLACK MIRROR:

Right so I probably don't watch this right. Unlike everything else I don't binge it. It freaks me out too much! I also don't watch it in order. I watch in relation to how much spook I can take after researching the episode first. This is a lesson I've learnt after watching 'White Bear' on my second episode (I took at least a 2 month break from black mirror because of it). I've gradually been working my way through the episodes I think I can manage to watch alone -and then watching 4 episodes of Friends afterwards. The latest series was released in December but there's a few of these I don't think I could watch alone.

A good friend of mine made a mini movie called 'String' which he entered into Random Acts and his work was televised on channel 4. He also won a Royal Television award for it. I mention this because his film reminds me of the style of black mirror in the way it makes you think. You should check it out, his film is so good:




BREAKING BAD:

Okay, so I'm a bit behind in the breaking bad hype. The first two series I binge watched so quickly! (aka in weekend when all my friends weren't in Plymouth)



So that's what I've been watching on Netflix for the last two months. I've also been loving Hard Sun and Call the Midwife on BBC IPlayer... I didn't realise how much I've watched until writing this up :O


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page