top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Writer's pictureAbi Purvis

March favourites

Updated: Apr 10, 2018

This month has been so busy, it has totally flown by! I've been up to loads of stuff and I wanted to share some of my favourite memories. (My birthday and the snow is also something I would include in this post but considering I've already rambled on about that on a previous post I'll leave it out this time).


Adventures

Mum and I managed to squeeze in a trip to Dartmoor and manage a 17km walk. The weather wasn't the best but I was so lovely to be back out on the moors and be out in the fresh air. We also bumped into a few of my old Ten Tors leaders which was a lucky surprise.












We also have had a trip to redpoint climbing centre and I'm hoping it to be the first of many over the Easter break - I certainly need to go again as I'm so out of practice.


Weston beach was another fun little afternoon outing, it was a lovely spring day so perfect for playing around on the beach with the woofer





Music

It's probably been about 2 years since I last saw a music concert so I was incredibly excited to see the Fratellis in Bristol over Easter.



The concert was really good fun and they played some of my all time favourite songs.






Not many people know this about me but I try to make a monthly playlist. I've probably been doing this for over 2 years now.


I love to listen back at say a couple of months ago and I find it helps to bring back memories of what I was doing in that month of my life.


I tend to relate memories to a particular song- anyone else do this or am I just a bit weird?







My favourite song this month has got to be Lemon to a knife Fight by the Wombats - yes weird song title, I know.




I love re-listening to my July 2017 one as it reminds me so much of the end of a levels and going on holiday to Spain.



Although Vance Joy Riptide I associate a large portion of the summer of 2015 with.













Unsurprisingly of course this month has a selection of Fratellis music



Spotify is perfect for making my monthly playlists and it

helps me to discover new music.











Nights out

I've surprised my self this month and have been 'spontaneous' and thus been out a lot . This is most unlike me as clubbing is not usually 'my scene'.

I've had a few nights out in Plymouth:



We also attempted to go out in Bristol after the Fratellis considering we were already in town but it wasn't to be. The queue was sooooooooo looonnnnggg! We queued for about 2 hours in the cold before giving up and catching the last bus home at 12.

I think I will always remember that queue out of the fear of being peed on by the girl behind us being shielded by her friends as she had a wee in the queue - eww! I did not want that on my shoes!

Despite that I'm sure we will give Bristol another go in the near future (probably this week).


Games

I've become obsessed with playing poker with my uni friends. We've had many nights in playing it for hours on end, gambling with my favourite pens.


Food & drink

Whenever I get back from uni I always want to bake! Its an old hobby of mine and I never get the chance to do it until I get home - partly because of the mess that is my halls kitchen. Considering it was the Easter weekend I thought the perfect thing to bake was Easter biscuits and some chocolate nests. The chocolate nest were definitely giving me flash backs to making these every year at scouts with the little toy fluffy chicks that would be on each of them.

Costa white hot chocolate! Do I need to say more? They are so delicious. Normally I find White hot chocolate too sweet but the three I've had in the space of a week were perfect. I definitely recommend you try this before they disappear off the Easter range.



Films & TV

The Danish girl: this is a film about a man struggling to find his identity until they find it in becoming a woman. This film is beautiful presented and Eddie Redmaynes acting is brilliant. The story was very well filmed.


Paddington 2: this was perfect for the rainy day that we watched it on. It was light-hearted and had an impressive cast list


The Crown: This Netflix series follows the life of Queen Elizabeth and the ins and outs of the royal family and the relationships between them. Matt Smith as Price Phillip was one of the most perfect casting choices I've ever seen.


Victoria: Very similar to the crown except that it follows the life of Queen Victoria


Literature

I'm currently 3 chapters in to reading the bees by Laline Paul which was Waterstones recommended to me as a good book to read if you enjoyed the Handmaids tale. So far it's looking good.



Not too long ago I shared my poem perfection on a this blog, I also entered it into the Plymouth uni ink magazine competition. I got an exciting email the other day saying my poem has been selected!


Friends and family

Since being back for about a week from uni I've been able to see so many school friends and family members, it has been great to see so many people haven't seen since January.



So that concludes all my favourite memories from the last month. I hope you enjoyed reading this post and if you haven't already subscribed with your email please do so you don't miss out on anything. And as always, thankyou for reading . Hope you all had a great Easter weekend.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page