top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

That time I threw a Harry Potter party

Pre warning: this post is a Harry Potter overload!


I've always loved Harry Potter so when I was trying to decide what to do to celebrate my 17th birthday I thought why not?


I knew most of my friends wouldn't want to dress up so I decided to dress up the venue... my house (it's a shame the house couldn't stay the same afterwards).


My Mum and I got on Pinterest and got inspired. You can check out my board here: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/aabigailp/harry-potter-party/





So following my Pinterest inspo here's a list of some of the things we made (from memory);

  • A platform 9 3/4 entrance over the doorway

  • A moaning myrtle photograph in the toilet (I managed to keep this up for a while after the party and spook friends and family out every time they used the bathroom... Sadly it came down after we spooked the plumber)

  • A chamber of secrets message on the mirror

  • Golden snitch made out of Ferro Roche's

  • Quidditch pong (basically beer pong with extra obstacles)

  • Glass vials filed with random spices and herbs from the cupboards to look like potions ingredients

  • Floating candles made out of fake tea lights and cardboard loo roll tubes

  • Owls drawn on balloons

  • Decorated table cloth with daily prophet articles we found on google

  • One of my amazing friends also made me a cake that was like the one Hagrid gives to Harry in the Philosopher stone (LOVE YOU ASIA)



Apologies for the poor quality images but here are a few photos I have from that evening:












For obvious reasons Pinterest is anyone's best friend when throwing a themed party. I would definitely want to throw this party all over again


This really was a really fun project in making all the decorations and setting it up and the party itself was brilliant. It was a shame to take down the decorations but we did leave moaning myrtle on the back of the door in the toilet for a bit - to scare my friends and family when they came over. It stayed up until we scared the plumber ...


Thanks for reading and if you haven't already, please subscribe.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page