top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Writer's pictureAbi Purvis

The Handmaid's Tale

Updated: Apr 10, 2018

My first encounter with Atwood was when I read 'The Penelopiad' back in September 2017. This was a rewriting/retelling of the ancient myth 'The Odyssey' from Penelope's point of view.


The Handmaid's Tale was undoubtedly even better. Atwood's creative and intelligent mind (and harsh irony) shines through every page! (she is my favourite author at this moment in time)



This novel is a dystopian. Women's rights are stripped away by the totalitarian state and they are forced to be Handmaids; their one soul use in society is to procreate for the sake of the population.


We follow the story from Offred's perspective, although this is not her original birth name- even that has been taken away from her so that her name corresponds with her master's; Fred. Her day's are filled with doing meaningless tasks and trying to fight off boredom.


The narrative structure follows the present but has flashbacks to the ways of life before, where society was as we know it to be today. This is a structure I'm a bit temperamental with, I find that sometimes it's hard to follow at what point in time we as the reader are and it is something I've tried out in my own writing recently. Atwood however, of course, does it brilliantly and her use of flashbacks adds so much suspense to the book.


Now I would say SOOOOOOOOO much more but I don't want to give away any spoilers- and I don't want to go on a big ol' Englishy analysis rant because no one would find that interesting.


I really enjoyed reading this book (obviously) and I'm so annoyed at myself for not having read this sooner. WHY ABI WHY DID YOU NOT READ THIS SOONER!? Thanks Rosie for getting me this book for Christmas!


Now I need to find the TV series that I've heard so many good things about!


Next to read are books for my degree (so there wont be any book reviews for a little bit) as I have a fair few to get through for my latest module: Robinson Crusoe, Pamela, and The Castle of Otranto.


PS. Mum, if you're reading this you know what book I'm making you read next:)


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page