top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Writer's pictureAbi Purvis

Writing from an image …

Uh oh. Here we go again.

He has been in this miserable mood this whole afternoon, I was hoping he’d cheer up before we left to endeavour into the outside world. This evening we are going to the theatre, we being myself and apparently my husband; Mr grumpy. He’s worse than when our Benjy was a little toddler having a tantrum, and yet my husband is a grown man- supposedly a respectable on: I wish. If only he way as dog I could just leave him at home for misbehaving.


The first thing he said to me after I’d made him some afternoon tea was; “The colour of this tea is somehow more anaemic than you. How do you always manage that”. I’m often told I’m a lucky lady to have Edward as my husband - I don’t think they’d like to be in my shoes when they realise this is the man I have to take me to the theatre.


It was when 4’oclock slowly became 8’oclock and his miserable mood had not improved I decided maybe I could help by laying out his evening suit ready for him- as a nice gesture- this got beaten down with a remark; “I’m not a child”



I keep a safe distance from him while we walk so to not agitate him, he often claimed I ‘cut him up’ when we walk together when we were first married. I also used to be told that I was smothering him, or that I didn’t give him enough space to walk round the puddle when he’s the one with dry feet and I was the one with wet feet as I’m dragged through it by our interlinked arms. I soon learnt to keep a safe distance.


“Excuse me ma’m”. Uh oh, I think. Here we go again.


“Yes sir?” I said to the gentlemen we were passing on the street.


“Could you be so kind as to tell me which way the theatre is, I seem to have gotten myself in a bit of a muddle”

I

look to my husband and see his hand balling up into a fist by his side as he attempts to contain his mood, a little too late I think. “Yes it’s straight ahead and then the second left, you wont miss it if you get on the right road” I tell the gentleman.


“Thankyou. Have a good evening” he says lifting his hat to me, a gesture I’ve always found weird. I turn back to Edward and see he is beginning to calm back into his miserable state. This time, I decide to enjoy it. “We are actually heading that way if you wish to walk with us” I offer


Edward coughs in surprise. I wish I could photograph the panic on his face. He collects himself any plays with his tie, straightening it round his neck while muttering some indistinguishable words under his breath although I’m sure one could guess.


This could be fun I think.


So, in my seminar this morning we did a random 5 min writing task. I was given this photo for my inspiration and I actually really enjoyed making a scene surrounding the image. I wanted to quickly type it up (nice bit of procrastination for me) and share it on here. I hope you enjoyed it even though it’s not very developed, after all it only took about 5 mins to write plus a little bit of editing whilst typing it up.


Please make sure to subscribe by email at the bottom of the page.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page