top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Writer's pictureAbi Purvis

Getting lost, bruised knees, and not being able to stand up in Jersey

Updated: Aug 3, 2018

Last week I went to Jersey with my uni friends: Ellie, Harry, and Josh.



Even though I've been back for about a week now I have major holiday blues. Hands down it has to be the best holiday I have ever had. Excluding the football games, the wetsuit rash, and the sunburn; I loved every minute.


This was the first time I've flown on my own before which was a really big deal for me but I made it. But STORY TIME I managed to get lost in Jersey airport ,which really is an impossible task to do considering it's so small. "So Abi, how did you manage to be such a muppet?" I hear you ask... Well as soon as I got off the plane I went straight to the toilet as I was bursting for a wee and when I came out there was literally no one around. All I could see sign posted were al the different gates and numbers. On a wim I went left and wandered down the corridor, at this point I called mum and said "just to let you know I've landed, but I'm lost in the airport". I kept going until I saw baggage reclaim and guessed that must be the way out. By the baggage conveyer belt Mum must've thought I'd totally lost the plot cause mid sentence I said "what the heck there is a dinosaur". No I wasn't hallucinating, there was just a huge moving dinosaur advertising one of the parks on the island. SO after being stunned there for a bit and then realising people were giving me some funny looks, I found a way out sign and made it to Josh who at this point was unsure as to whether I had even made it on the flight as I took so long to come out of the airport after all the other passengers. OPPSIE! Not my proudest experience I have to say.


While waiting for Ellie and Harry we had a little explore on a couple of the beaches and then went back to collect them before going to Josh's house.



 


One of my favourite experiences of the holiday has to be the boat trips. Tim kindly took us out on his boat and Harry, Josh, then Ellie totally nailed water skiing. Me on the other hand could not get the hang of it... I couldn't stand up! I just couldn't keep my legs together so as soon as the boat puled me up my legs fully did the splits and I'd face plant the water. This of course brought about many opportunities for them to 'bully' me with the inappropriate joke of "Abi can't stop spreading her legs" Thanks again guys...



We also did other water sports such as pier jumping, just a swim, paddle boarding and surfing. Surfing was annoyingly another thing I couldn't get the hack of.. again I couldn't stand up and in my many attempts I trashed my knees resulting in many cuts and bruises #worthit


 



On Saturday we went out pour le petit déjeuner. We only spent a couple of hours there but was good fun to be out on the boat again and end up in FRANCE for breakfast!



 


We also went round Elizabeth castle, attempted to catch a sunrise (but it was too cloudy to see anything, skateboarded, napped in the garden, and had many a game of late night Mario kart (32 back to back to be precise).


 

It was a really enjoyable week and I really hope to go back again soon. I could not have asked for better uni friends and I have already sung their praises on instgram so I'll attach that here:



I hope you have enjoyed hearing a little summary of my trip to Jersey. I will leave you here with a little photo essay of my week (also don't forget to subscribe if you haven't already!):




 

Edit 06/07/18: Ellie vlogged the whole week and has uploaded it to her YouTube channel here is part 1


Edit 03/08/18: Ellie has FINALLY posted PART 2!!!!



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page